One Crow Sorrow – Teaser

So here it is guys. It’s only short, but I guess that’s why they call it a teaser! 😉

It’s unedited and subject to change, all rights reserved. Blah, blah, blah! Here it is.

 

“So this is where you’ve been coming every night,” he said, his tone becoming serious

.

“Yeah, it’s just a good place to think” I said.

 

“I’m sorry I disrupted your thoughts.  The house feels empty when you aren’t there.  I hope you’re not mad.”  Gavin, it turned out, didn’t like to be left alone.  This creature of the night, this supposed monster that had done unspeakable things had quite a bad case of separation anxiety, also known as Blood Bond Syndrome. Holly had diagnosed it and said the only cure was time. Usually by the end of the transformative year, when a maker’s new creation had become full blooded, the blood bond would settle into a more composed state, but never really go away. “You shouldn’t be out here alone, Rachel. Anything could happen.”

 

“Gavin, we’re immortal,” I said, trying to reason with him

 

“Immortal, not invincible.” Gavin leaned forward slightly crossing his arms over his chest, running them up and down his biceps in a fit of anxiety. I had seen this a lot lately. Sometimes being away from me, even for short periods of time, seemed to induce panic. “Anything could happen to you. I don’t like you coming out here without me. Please don’t be mad, I’m just trying to protect you.”

 

“Mad? I’m not mad. And I’m still here so you are protecting me. You’ve been a great protector,” I said, looping my arm through his.  “You doing alright?”

 

“Now that I’m with you,” he said, slipping his arms around my neck and bringing the top of my head to his lips.

 

“You need to learn to be on your own sometimes though Gavin.  We’re going to live forever so at some point we’ll have to spend some time apart.”

 

Although I hadn’t said anything intentionally hurtful he dropped his head looking wounded.  “I know,” he said, “but I don’t like to think about that.  Not yet, it’s too soon.”

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “One Crow Sorrow – Teaser

  1. I want to read more!!! 😛

  2. AMAZING!!!! I CANNOT WAIT!!! Love Love Love these characters! So glad Duncan is going to stay around. He added so much angst to they story!
    Thanks for sharing…consider me properly teased! YOU ROCK JESSICA!!!

  3. Thanks you guys!! ❤

Leave a Reply

