Jessica MacIntyre’s NaNoWriMo Page

So, today I wanted to talk to you about something that I’ve decided to do. I’ve thought about doing NaNoWriMo ever since I found out about it last year. I was too late for last November, but with the event still well over a month away I’ve decided to give it a go this year.

If you don’t know what that is I’m going to post a link to their website below. Basically what happens is that during the month of November, writers from all over the world embark on creating a 50,000 word novel. There is also a youth program that involves a more flexible word count for people between the ages of 13 and 18. My daughter is participating as well.

Here’s the thing though. I didn’t want to do it alone. The point of NaNoWriMo, it seems, is to create a network of people who are all doing the same thing you are. Even though I have four books in print now with more on the way, writing a new book is always a challenge. My usual workload for the day is normally never above one to two thousand words. I just find I get sloppy after that. I’ve never written a book in a month. I’ve always given myself at least two to three months of writing time, so this will be a first for me.  For that reason I’ve decided to create a page on Facebook with others who are going to participate this year.

But then I decided I’d take it a step further. Not only am I going to attempt to write my own book, I’m going to coach other people, as much as I can, with their attempt. Meaning I want to get as many people as possible on that page who’ve never written a novel before. Since I’ve put my work out there I can’t tell you how many people I’ve talked to who’ve told me that they’ve either always wanted to write a book, or that they started writing a book at some point and then got stonewalled. I’ve struggled with this myself in the past, but in the last few years, I’ve learned a few tricks that may help you push through. The important part is getting to the end and learning not to worry about anything else until you do.

So with NaNoWriMo just around the corner I’d like to invite you to join my Facebook group. If you have been dreaming of starting your novel, now is the time. I’d love to see you in the group. Come on over and introduce yourselves, and have a look around at NaNoWriMo’s page. You might be amazed at what you can accomplish with a deadline and some coaching. We can do this together! Let’s go!

 

http://nanowrimo.org/en/dashboard

https://www.facebook.com/JMNanowrimo

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Jessica MacIntyre’s NaNoWriMo Page

  1. Good luck on NaNoWriMo. This is going to be my first year also, add me as a buddy on NaNo (username: Arphaxad). I would love to follow your progress and encourage each other to complete the challenge.

  2. I’ve written books in a month before, but that never seems to happen during the month of November. November equals the end of the school semester for me so 50,000 words in a month is like a distant dream then.
    I might give it a try, but then I might neglect my school work. Hm. I’ll see how it works out. Until then, I’ll definitely like your page.

Leave a Reply

